Midnight Voices (https://www.peteatkin.com/cgi-bin/mv/YaBB.cgi)
Pete Atkin >> Words >> Facebook
(Message started by: Ian Chippett on Today at 11:25)

Title: Facebook
Post by Ian Chippett on Today at 11:25
There now appears to be a Facebook site for Clive in French!! So far it only consists of a list of his publications, none of which have been translated into French as far as I know.

Ian C

Title: Re: Facebook
Post by Ian Chippett on 25.08.10 at 12:52
There now appears to be another Pete Atkin site on Facebook in French! I suspect there's something funny going on as everything I unwisely listed as hobbies or interests (in English) now seems to have a Facebook page in French anxious for me to contact it. Maybe our esteemed Moderator has some knowledge of this?

Ian C

Paranoid in Pantin, France.

Title: Re: Facebook
Post by S J Birkill on 25.08.10 at 15:18
I can't find this. Could it be that FB has (like Google) redirects in place which divert users with France-based IP addresses to a 'local' version of their site (which may have been automatically translated)? Or have I just not looked long and hard enough?

Do you have a URL for the French pages, distinct from the 'international' one at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=121229350012 (http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=121229350012) ?


Title: Re: Facebook
Post by Ian Chippett on 25.08.10 at 19:28

This is what I came up with after revisiting the message.

Ian C

Title: Re: Facebook
Post by S J Birkill on 25.08.10 at 21:03
Hmm... This seems to be another kind of FB entity, a 'Community Page', intended to be a Wiki-style fan page. Not being a deep (or wide) FB user, I'd not encountered these before.

It may be part of the plan that such pages are reproduced in 'local' versions: the link you give reveals at this location a page entirely in English. Its content may indeed have been assembled automatically, in part from Wikipedia and in part from FB members' innocent posts, taken out of context. I now realise this is also the nature of the Clive James page you alerted us to at the head of this thread.

Sinister! Presumably the Wiki process provides a way for the subject to achieve correction or deletion? We should all be alert for unsolicited pages appearing in our own names...

Title: Re: Facebook
Post by Rob Spence on 25.08.10 at 21:35
You are correct, Steve. Facebook's bots scrape the lists of interests of members, and produce these wiki pages which you are then invited to "like". Self consuming artefacts is what we poncey academics call them.

Midnight Voices » Powered by YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1!
YaBB 2000-2003. All Rights Reserved.